Hourly Air Temperature data for US state of New Hampshire

Hi
I am new to R, and need some help with a data visualization. I want to graph the hourly air temp for the state of New Hampshire for all available historical dates. I have data for visits to a commercial outlets (incl. latt/long) and want to see how hourly visit numbers are affected by temperature/weather. I plan to plot the hourly air temp on a line graph, overlay that with the hourly visits to the commercial outlet and show if there is a relationship. My initial research brought me to this link https://ropensci.org/blog/blog/2017/04/04/gsodr which helped my understand the approach. Please let me if you have any insights on this query. I appreciate any help you can give.
Thanks
Brendan

2 Likes

Thanks for your question @brendan.gallagher

I’m definitely not the best one to ask about viz questions, but do @adamhsparks or @geanders or @jonmcalder have any thoughts on this?

2 Likes

Without actually seeing any of the data, I’d suggest a scatterplot of visits for each location with the corresponding weather data from the closest station to start and look for a pattern there, e.g. x-axis = visits, y-axis = temperature.

If you wish to plot temperature as a line, I’d do that and plot visits as points, this would most likely mean you’d have dual axis, which may or may not be desirable depending on your point of view.

3 Likes

I think the suggestions from @adamhsparks are a good starting point. I had similar thoughts but it’s hard to know what to suggest without seeing the data - explore the data and try different plots to see where that takes you.