Academic departments as networks: test case for package 'fulltext'

Hello all,

Brief intro since Scott just invited me into this group. I’m a PhD student at Stony Brook University studying plant-animal interactions. My computational work harnesses high performance R, computer vision and network analysis (website).

Use Case Aim

Using tools from network ecology, we can begin to examine patterns of collaboration, specialization and compartmentalization within academic departments. Using journal publications and category as a metric of similarity among faculty members, we can compare the relative specialization of each department and compare academic niche breadth as a function of size, location and other measures of group interactions.

#Approach

1. Get list of journals with subheadings and disciplines from google to create similarity lists.
  2. Get names of top academic departments in the US with a program in Ecology and Evolution.
  3. Search the pubmed (scopus?) archives for journal title and affiliation.
  4. Decompose API results into R metadata.
  5. Perform network analysis on academic departments as a function of similarity in journal publications.

I made a markdown document outlining the project on github

I’d love to hear how ROpenSci can help approach these questions with the upcoming fulltext package.

Hi, Thanks for re-posting here :smile:

Some comments on your Approach:

1. you said get this list from Google. Is that Google Scholar? I think you could get this via the Crossref API
  2. Is the affiliation here for an article, or for the journal? For articles that we can get full text for, we can scrape metadata for affiliations. For some non-OA articles, perhaps this info may be in the metadata provided

To get journals that do ecology, you could try rcrossref, e.g.,

library("rcrossref")
out <- cr_journals(query = "ecology")
out$meta

total_results search_terms start_index items_per_page
1           143      ecology           0             20