OAuth2.0 Testing: Would you like a web service?

Hello there,

Firstly, thank you for all your work!

I have a slightly obscure question for you.

There doesn’t seem to be a generally accepted way to test R packages which depend on OAuth2.0 in an open, collaborative manner. This is an important problem for developing R API packages, and you lot seem keen on that! :slight_smile:

My own interest is the boxr package.

The general problem seems to be that while the client id and secret are stable over sessions, the actual auth/refresh tokens (can) change after every session. This means that they aren’t amenable to being stored as encrypted Travis vars.

There seem to be at least two solutions:

• Using ‘secure packages’ - Each package on GitHub would have a ‘shadow package’ to store it’s tokens, and each CI operation on the ‘main’ repo would clone, and then commit & push back to the ‘shadow repo’ using git/gitr. This seems messy and error prone.

• Using a light REST API which simply accepts and returns strings, representing salted and hashed tokens. httr/RCurl would already be a dependency.

The first is a lot of computational ‘work’ for something as simple as storing a string remotely, would add dependencies and time to CI builds.

I’ve been thinking about writing a small solution for the second option, using Node.js.

It would be very simple; a repo would have some sort of credential (which could be an encrypted Travis var). The remote REST service would simply allow requests with that credential to read/write-to a remote json string, containing one or more tokens. These could be salted and hashed (another encrypted Travis var), so that access to the server itself would not grant access to a repo’s tokens.

However, hardware to host the service is an issue.

I have no server of my own, I’m wary of others’ work depending on me paying AWS bills for a lolz side project, and users would be right to feel uneasy sharing (encrypted) tokens with some guy from the Internet.