Licensing my R code

Hello!

Important disclaimer: I am a librarian with a background in the humanities, not a programmer, data person, or statistician. Please speak slowly and clearly without a lot of jargon so I can understand your reply. :slight_smile:

Some colleagues and I are writing a chapter for a book on community college library assessment. We looked at the relationship between in-class library instruction and student retention and used R for our statistical analysis. I am trying to clean up the R code and make it sort of plug-and-play so we can share it and our data for other librarians to do similar analysis on data from their institutions and/or refine our methodology.

I see some information about licensing “software,” “packages,” “analysis code,” and “repos,” but I’m not sure exactly what all these designations mean or what category the code we’ve created falls under. Basically, we used RStudio and some existing packages (fmsb, readxl, and svDialogs) to make a little file of code (file suffix is .R) that can be used to duplicate our analysis by other non-experts like us.

I think this is probably either “analysis code” or a “repo,” but again, not sure exactly what those mean. Then, are these things considered “software” and therefore not eligible for Creative Commons Licensing? I think we are going to license the rest of our info (directions and datasets) under CC-BY-SA, which seems like it could potentially be compatible with software licensing.

Do I need to find out what license R, RStudio, and all the packages we used are under and emulate that? My directions require the user to download and install R and RStudio, and then the code causes the user to find, download, install, and load the packages, so does that mean that I am “distributing” them?